Lesson learned

Tonight while making dinner, my daughter Reese reminded me of all the funny lessons we learn as kids because we are stubborn and know more than mommy does.

She always wants to help in the kitchen especially when it is time to mix things up.  She loves to pour all the things in the bowl.  Sometimes I let her measure the things out and sometimes I do the measuring and she does the pouring depending on what it is.

Tonight we were making cauliflower pizza crust (which BTW is my new favorite) and just like her mommy, she likes to eat the ingredients while she cooks, especially the mozzarella cheese.  But tonight it wasn’t just the cheese that she wanted to try out.

The recipe also calls for flour.  So I scooped out the flour into the measuring cup and let her dump it into the bowl.  I started to measure out the next ingredient when I noticed her little hand go into the bag of flour.

“No Reesie, you don’t want that.  That is yucky!”

“No, it’s not mommy.  I like it!” as she tasted the tiniest little remnant off her finger.

“Okay, if you like it, go ahead!”  Knowing that it wouldn’t hurt her, I let her figure it out herself.

She scooped some flour into her little hand and right into her mouth.. AND

Well we know how yummy flour is…

I tried to get a picture of her while she was trying to spit the dry flour out of her mouth and into the garbage, wiping it with the wet paper towel I gave her, because I knew right then and there that this was going to be my Slice for the day.  BUT she knew it was embarrassing so she did not allow it; turning her head and getting her way.

Lesson learned for Reese; dinner time laugh for mommy!!

4 thoughts on “Lesson learned

  1. So cute. A sweetheart. When I read your words “I knew then and there that this was going to be my slice,” I thought of a quote from Nancie Atwell: “Ideas come because I anticipate I’ll be writing and I look for them.” This is what SOL16 is doing to us!

  2. I can just picture Reese spitting out all the flour and you dying laughing!! A very, “I told you so moment!”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *