A promise is a promise

It was about 11:30 last night when my long day finally ended and I crawled into bed ready to finally STOP my day and relax.

I had a full day teaching kindergarten, complete with recess duty at lunch, followed by a doctor’s appointment. Then I was headed to eat a quick dinner with friends who had Reese at their house.  The quick dinner turned into a 3 hour fun impromptu hangout with friends.  Once I was finally home it was put Reese to bed time, blog time, lunch making time and get ready for bed time.  I was ready.

I turned off the light, laid down on my comfy bed and like I do every night (whether I want to or not) I started reflecting on the school day.

That math lesson went well…  gotta remember about book fair next week…  kids earned their pj day reward so make sure you send home the note tomorrow…  AK was reading really well in guided reading today, I need to reassess his reading level…  no one clipped down again today (my behavior system)..  everyone is having a good week- especially GD..

OH NO!!  I promised GD over and over today and reassured her that I would email mom to tell her how hard she worked these last few days at making good choices!  After a bumpy year with that so far and an awful last two weeks complete with some long chats with her and even after “getting no where” emails and calls to mom she really had an amazing week!

I was SO proud of her.

She was SO proud of herself.

She wanted mom to be SO proud too.

UGH!

I JUST got into bed.

I JUST got comfy.

I JUST started to relax.

The laptop is downstairs (my laptop would would more easily find her mom’s email).

Her mom doesn’t always reply even when it is good and GD never hears about the good emails from her mom because I have asked.

I can just tell GD that I will do it tomorrow…

I’ll email her mom right in front of her..

NOPE!!

A promise is a promise Lori and you promised that little girl that you would email her mom

Even if mom never reads it or never shows GD the email (which I will show her tomorrow so she does see it) you promised that little girl you would email her mom.

She did her part this week and did her best and you promised that little girl you would email her mom

So up I got and emailed that little girl’s mom like I promised. Because a promise is a promise.

And this morning when I saw the beaming smile on that little girl’s face as I read the email to her, as well as the happy response I received from mom made it all worth it.

and a promise is a promise..

 

 

3 thoughts on “A promise is a promise

  1. You so captured that dilemma of wanting to stay in bed but remembering that thing we were supposed to do….. Go, you, for getting up and sending the email. 🙂

  2. I love this post. This is an excellent example of the hidden curriculum that great teachers teach their students every day by the actions that they model!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *