Thank You Picture Day!

Growing up I was never that into lots of girly things when it came to clothes and shoes and hair and make up and stuff.  I always, and still do, like to dress nice and make sure my hair and make up look nice but I never got really into all the shoes and accessories and make up and stuff.  All that stuff is great but it had never been me.

That changed almost 7 years ago when I had Reese-but not for myself, for Reese  All of those super cute outfits in little girl sizes.  The matching headbands and bows and fun little boots and shoes..  I loved them!

It was easy when she was little because she did not care what she wore.  I bought what I liked and dressed her how I wanted to.  The cute tights and boots and sweaters and skirts and on and on!! The cute little Adidas purple track suit; the pink cowboy boots- I loved getting her all dolled up.

I would also love to braid her hair or put cute barrettes or pigtails in her hair.  Maybe a cute headband here and there.

Then when she was 5 she started to care what she wore and how she fixed her hair and she didn’t (still doesn’t) like all that same “girly stuff” that I liked for her.  Ironically she does always want to wear a dress (cotton dress-nothing fancy) with leggings or shorts underneath (that may or may not match) but never with a cute jean jacket or sweater to match or with fun matching leggings.  Never with fun boots or sandals or headbands or belts.  And her fashion choices are not due to her lack of caring.  Her outfits are carefully picked out by her.

AND that is fine.  I love that she is confident and knows what she wants to wear. I always make sure I approve her clothing selection and as long as it fits, is clean and is appropriate for the weather and/or occasion I don’t mind that she is mismatched or throws on a pair of Christmas leggings to match her Emoji dress in mid March, as long as it makes her happy.

As long as her hair is clean and brushed and out of her face I don’t care that she wears it in a ponytail that she puts in everyday, as long as it makes her happy..

BUT I do admit that sometimes I miss her wearing those, in my opinion, super cute outfits that some of her friends wear.  I always suggest outfits at the store and usually get shot down..

I miss seeing her in those types of outfits but I do get that chance every so often…

School Picture Day! And tomorrow is Spring Picture Day!

Whatever it is about picture days and a very few other random days of the year, she decides that my outfit choices are just as cute and we buy them and she wears them and I get to do her hair!  And not only that I get a picture to remember the day when mommy’s clothing choice for her was acceptable!

 

5 thoughts on “Thank You Picture Day!

  1. I would LOVE for my daughter to let me pick out her outfits more often than she does. I love that she is independent, but there are so many cute combinations in her drawers that she just doesn’t go for when I suggest them. In fact, if I suggest it, usually I have given the outfit the kiss of death. She’s four. 🙂 I could totally relate to your story.

  2. How cute! I love how you give her the freedom to do her own hair and pick out her own clothes. Definitely a great way to continue to build her confidence.

  3. I love that she has found her own style, which is awesome. But at the same time she treats you to picking out the special occassion outfits. She is such a doll!

  4. I think Mila and Reesey are sometimes cut from the same cord. She’s only 2 and demands to wear what she wants, not what we ever pick out. But you know what, I’d rather have a confident, headstrong daughter than one who depends on me to make all of her decisions. I know you want Reese to go confidently into this world knowing who she is and who she isn’t.

    And yet, it’s nice for that same daughter to do things, like dress up on picture day, just because it so pleases her mama!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *