It never fails

It never fails..  we were ready to go 10 minutes early today!  We were going to be on the road on our way to work/school early!

My hopes for that extra time…

Get my classroom set up for the day

Make those copies I forgot to make yesterday

Check my email

Chit chat with a coworker I never see even though we work in the same building

Enjoy a quiet classroom before the chaos of the day begins

BUT IT NEVER FAILS

My reality for that extra time…

I can’t find my cars keys (that are probably in the bottom of my purse that I checked 3 times already)

I can’t find my phone (see comment above)

No one seems to know how to use the 4 way stop I have to go through..

Reese wants an extra long hug/kiss goodbye (how can I say no-I can’t and never will :))

Traffic screeches to a halt and crawls for no reason (or is it because there was a snowflake spotting or because there is a car on the side of the road with it’s hazards on?  No telling)

I get behind the bus that stops at every corner (Really? every corner?  When I took the bus there was one neighborhood stop, whether you lived 1 block away or five, that was your only choice)

The crossing guard at our school is patiently waiting, holding up the traffic for kids who are 3 blocks away ( I swear the kids she is waiting for are still in their houses- come on lady let the cars move)

The garbage truck is picking up our school’s garbage during morning drop off rush blocking 7 parking spots (Seriously who set up that schedule??)

It never fails, one of these things steals my extra 10 minutes.  Today it was the mystery traffic..  Instead of being 10 minutes early I was 10 minutes late.  Thank goodness for good teaching partners and classroom neighbors who take over.  Also doesn’t hurt when your classroom is in the basement- away from the office…

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “It never fails

  1. Amen sister! I love this slice because it was my reality yesterday, too. On Monday I left at the same time as Tuesday. Monday – 3 mins early, Tuesday – 15 mins late. Oh and you forgot, since we can’t turn left into our parking lot we have to drive down the street or pull a 3 point turn to turn back around and get stuck behind 15 parent cars lined up in the circle waiting for the 2 busses and the garbage truck to move lol.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *