Oh, the Places She’ll Go (or Not)

Last Saturday as most of us in the educational world know was Dr’ Seuss’ birthday!  So this week my teaching partner and I decided to spend some time looking at some out favorite Dr. Seuss books and share them, all while fitting a lesson with them into our Kindergarten standards (of course) with our students.

We read Green Eggs and HamYertle the TurtleThidwick the Big-Hearted Moose (which BTW I just discovered about 10 years ago and is my favorite- good lesson- check it out if you haven’t read it :)) and of course Oh, The Places You’ll Go.

Since conferences are coming up next week, my teaching partner found an idea on Pinterest to decorate the kids’ lockers with.  It was one of those take their picture, ask them what they want to be when they grow up and put it all together as if they are floating in the sky holding a balloon.  So far they are coming out so cute and I have loved some of the answers we have gotten from the kids ( a tooth fairy, super girl, mom and Wonder Woman (I think that is an oxymoron :)), a food truck person..). SO cute.

My daughter Reese did some work with Dr. Seuss this week in her class as well (she is in 2nd grade).  So we started taking about what I did with my kiddos.  I told her about the books and the activity/craft we were making and so I asked her what she wanted to be when she grew up.  She said she wants to be a cheerleader.  I said that sounds fabulous but she may need to have another job too.  She said, “I want to be Edna.”  Now Edna (which BTW is not her real name she earned that long long ago from the “Vacation” movies as she always went on vacation with my family and can be a pain in the butt. Loving and fun but a PITA) is my aunt who lives close to me and always helps me out with Reese.  We have her over a lot and she has stepped in as the mom and grandma role for us.  So Reese is close to her.

“What do you mean you want to be Edna?”

“I want her job.”

“Well Edna doesn’t work.”

“I know I don’t want to work.”

“But Edna used to have a job, she is now retired.”

“Ok, then I want to be retired when I grow up.”

“You need to have a job first to retire.  So you can have money.”

“No, I’m just going to retire.  I not going to work”

Guess we need to work on future goals/work ethic around here or my retired cheerleader will be living with me forever!

8 thoughts on “Oh, the Places She’ll Go (or Not)

  1. It makes sense to me- Go Reese! Realize that dream:) I love kids logic, because it does make sense and usually we’re just frustrated because we didn’t think of it:)

  2. That is funny! Your daughter will probably have many plans before she has to choose a path, but you should definitely save this story! I could just picture the back and forth of your conversation!

  3. I did a similar project with my Kindergarteners in hot air balloons and they wrote about their goals for when they get older. It’s one of my favorite projects! I laughed out loud when I was reading about your daughter’s career choice. Too funny!

  4. Charming post! I adore your “oxymoron” line 🙂
    Too,, too funny- your daughter! Nice exploration of growing up ideas, K-2nd grade. What they reveal!

  5. what a “smart” girl. My 25-year-old is still living at home because she is too afraid to look for a job in her area of study and to leave home. Hope you do a better job with those conversations that I must have done.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *