The hostess with the leastest

I love getting together with friends and family. I am also usually the one who initiates the get togethers.

I really don’t mind doing it because sometimes if I don’t do it nobody else will. Not because they don’t want to it’s just that for the longest time I’ve been the planner so I think now they rely on me to get the get togethers scheduled. And actually works out good because That way I get to schedule it around what works for me and where I may want to go or what I want to do

So as much as I do the planning one might think I was a good hostess because they seem to go hand in hand.

Not true at all. I swear I am hostessly challenged. I love entertaining at my house but I never seem to be prepared.

I’ll have the date set and let everyone know time and place and I’ll have several random lists of food and drinks I’ll need weeks in advance but the day the festivities arrive I forgot something or didn’t think about something or am not ready when people get here..  you name it.  I am just not an organized person. and a bit scattered brained at times with a little ADD mixed in..

Thankfully my close friends and sisters have realized this and are always swooping in a day or two before calling me to remind me or ask me if I got everything or thought of everything.  And even that day helping me.  I swear they have extra stuff in their cars just in case, they show up an hour early without warning because they know I will still be prepping or cleaning or whatever.  They have slowly helped me get with the program over the years.  I feel like with each party I get a teensy bit better.

Well today we are hosting our first St. Patrick’s day shindig at the new house which begins at 2:00 (It’s Saturday, may as well start early:)) and here I am a little before 1:00 and proud to say I am ready…  I think..

Maybe all that help has turned me from the hostess with the leastest to the hostess with the MOSTEST!

Or maybe I am just lucky to now have an organized, can’t sit still until everything is done husband that is making me look good!

Either way. I’ll take it!

 

 

7 thoughts on “The hostess with the leastest

  1. I can identify with soooooo much of that! 🙂 I hope your party turns out fun! 🙂 Happy St. Patrick’s Day! ~JudyK

  2. Your Slice makes me think about how I have some things I love to do that are still hard work for me. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  3. Your tag line caught my eye because I don’t enjoy hostessing and, on the few occasions when I have hosted, I don’t enjoy the event because I am way too stressed.

    Being a good hostess is a gift and I am definitely not gifted.

  4. I love hosting, but the work leading up to it is exhausting. I am a put a bag of chips out and call it a day. My wife is a chips need to go in a bowl type of person. They are our friends, why are we trying to impress them? Hope the party goes well. I don’t want to see you still dragging Monday morning.

  5. I too love get-togethers, but the preparation beforehand always makes me question why I offered to host. Being Greek I am always focused on the food and making sure that I have enough for everyone and that I have something that everyone will eat. Once the party starts, I can relax and enjoy! I hope your party was a success!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *