They are coming back!

It was your average Tuesday evening in early October.

My daughter Reese was playing with her many hand me down Barbies.

She took a bath and washed her hair.  I checked it to make sure soap was out.

She brushed it, got ready for bed and we read together.

The next morning started out the same.  Reese was getting ready while I was getting ready.  We would meet down stairs for me to do her hair and then be off to school.  We never have time to spare in the morning so when we met down stairs to fix her hair I was happy that she requested a quick pony tail.

As I was brushing and gathering her hair, something wasn’t right.  Something didn’t feel right.  Her hair felt shorter in some places.  It felt like her hair was missing in some places.  IT WAS MISSING!

It all started to make sense and come back to me.  Last night when she was playing with all of her MANY hand me down Barbies that her aunts invite her to take home to get out of their houses, she asked if she could cut the Barbies hair with scissors.  I said yes as long as she cleaned up like usual. I was actually happy because when she cuts their hair we throw the Barbies away because then she usually doesn’t like how they look.  It’s a great way to get all the excess Barbies out of my house.  She has been using scissors since she was 3, unsupervised since probably 5 (she is 7).  Never had a problem.  UNTIL that night.

Apparently she decided she wanted to see what it was like to cut her own hair.  It seems like most people (which I have learned while sharing this story) have either cut their own hair, cut someone else’s hair or have gotten their hair cut by someone under the age of 12.  I cut my little sisters bangs when I was probably the same age.  From what I hear it usually is a chunk off the bangs or on the side.  Not my daughter..

She cut her bangs to the crown but didn’t stop there.  One side above the ear was trimmed very close to head- maybe half an inch long was all that was left.  The other side was a bit longer but not long enough the fit behind her ears.  She was rocking the mullet for sure!

The night before her hair was messy and wet.  I just felt and looked for shampoo.  She brushed it but I looked all brushed back.  We read and went to bed. I didn’t notice anything!  Why would I think to pay attention to that.’

She admitted what she had done (hard not to) and started to cry and apologize.  Was worried that I was mad.   All I asked was, “are you going to do it again?”

“No, Mommy!”

“Then no, I am not mad.  Lesson learned.  Please don’t do that again.”

If you have read any of my blogs about Reese you will have heard that she just rocks her own look, and although she was upset that first day when she realized how much was gone and how long it would take to grow back, she has been fine ever since.

BUT let me tell you the growing back process has been rough to watch.  I will always think my daughter is beautiful and wonderful and all that, but those bangs!!  Oh lord those bangs have been rough looking- especially on a second grader rocking the partial grown in new front teeth that always seem a bit too big when they grow in.

But they are coming back!!  Last Friday for the daddy daughter dance I gave it a try and was able to pull back those awful bangs and there was that sweet face again.  She liked it too! Since then she has been all about me clipping them back!

They are coming back!  Really it was a harmless lesson learned that we all laugh about but I am so glad the bangs are growing back and we can move on!

 

2 thoughts on “They are coming back!

  1. Lori, so happy that her bangs are making a come back. It. Takes. Forever. Doesn’t it seem? I to cut my bangs once when I was in 5 th grade. They took forever to grow back, but the pictures from that time still make me smile.

  2. Oh Lori, it seems like forever ago that she did that. I loved her pictures from last weekend, her hair was very cute. I’m sure that was a tought lesson for her to learn!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *