drop off fail

Not today..  I learned from the last time…

Because my daughter and I do not have the same Spring Break I get to do some mom stuff I usually do not get to do this week.  One of those things is to drop Reese off to school instead of her having to take the bus.  She loves being a “car rider”.  So while I was happy to be able to do this the incident of last time, as well as some anxiety popped into my head.

I have done this before in the last 2 years she has been at this school.  But this particular time was different.  In the past she wanted me to park and walk her up to the door- easy.  Or when I have dropped her off she has been a late arrival due to an appointment or something so I had to bring her to the office- easy.  This time it was this past December and she was older and did not want me to walk her to the door just drop her off in the drop off area- NOT EASY.

Her school has a drop off circle for busses but the drop off area for cars is just in the parking lot.

I just figured you drop her off at the front doors-nope

I figured there would be a line of cars and I would just follow- nope- I swear not one car ahead of me.

I figured there would be an arrow or drop off sign-nope

I figured there would be patrols out or something- nope, just a custodian helping a woman getting something out of her car

I figured there would be cones or barricade- there was one but it was in the street right next to the sidewalk which said to me “no parking”-nope.

So I pulled on passed all that and stopped the car in front of the school.  Turned around to get my goodbye kiss and give out my, “I love you.  Have a great day!” when..

BANG BANG BANG- pounding on my window by the aforementioned custodian.

Roll down window..  “There is a reason that we have cones up!  We would appreciate parents following the rules!”  In a not very nice tone.

“I’m so very sorry I did not know.  This is my first time dropping off.”

“You will now have to wait for the buses (the smaller buses for students who require special assistance)!” same tone.

“No problem, no problem.  I’m sorry.” I shout as he storms away.  I am now embarrassed and flustered.  I do not want to cause any trouble or have anyone yell at me.

I pull up and wait behind the little bus who is waiting for a staff member to get the few students off the bus.   Once they are out I can get out of this disaster.

But my adventure is not over.

Another little bus comes up behind me and that bus driver throws up her hands in disgust that I am in her way. My anxiety is going crazy.  I do not want people to be upset at me.

I spot a parking spot to my left.  I can pull in there and get out of everyone’s way.  But I have to back my car up just a bit to get in there.  Back up toward the angry bus.

So I go for it and the bus driver is throwing her arms and hands all over the place even more so now.  A different staff member starts walking toward my car.  I immediately roll down my window and shout, “I’m so sorry!  I am trying to get out of the way! I have never done this before!  I am trying to get out of the way!  I was going to back up a few feet to park right there! I’m sorry!”

Luckily she is nice and says, “No problem, it’s okay.”  She waves at the bus driver to calm her down.

Suddenly that loud angry familiar voice is heard, “Keep the kids on the bus!  Don’t let them off!  Stay on the bus!  Get this lady out of here.”  It was the angry custodian shutting down the bus unloading because of me.  Once again the nice lady helped me and told him all was okay and helped me into my spot.  I swear I stayed there 5 minutes after the buses were gone and school had started just in case.

I was still upset and flustered as I drove home.  Then it hit me, “I HAVE TO PICK HER UP!!”  How does that work??  Luckily I have a mom friend who knows all the ins and outs of the school (should have checked in with her for drop off) so I quickly texted her and got the directions on how to pick up and had a successful after school situation.

SO this morning as we headed toward school, Reese kept reminding me that I do no pull up to the front doors.  I need to drop her off at the cone and she walks up the sidewalk to the entrance.  Remember Mom you can’t pull to the front.  Do you know what I mean Mom.  You can’t go the way that the little buses go.

I guess the thought of  me doing it the wrong way last time popped in her head this morning too.

I am happy to report that we had a successful drop off this morning without incident and although I feel like I know what I am now doing, I know I will still be a bit nervous at tomorrow’s drop off.

 

 

8 thoughts on “drop off fail

  1. This post is so funny! I love all of your apologizing…..I get frantic at my daughter’s middle school drop off and I KNOW what to do, but the security guard is SO MEAN! Didn’t you want to yell, “I’M A TEACHER! I LOVE CHILDREN!”

  2. Yikes! A genuine small moment, but with a big emotional impact!
    Too bad it has to be so complicated. You did your best. WE have all been in some situation like this- with all good intentions and care, we can still do the wrong thing. Forgive, forgive! Well written, with lots of dramatic flair 🙂

  3. Such a vivid and amusing description of your drop-off fail! Was your daughter aware of this disaster as it transpired? She would have been mortified! Glad this time around, things are going smoothly. Enjoy your spring break!

  4. You are a brave woman. I have 3 children and I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve dropped them off at elementary school…once. There school was crazy busy. I’m fine with the high school, but elementary school…no thanks!

  5. OMG! What a stressful situation. I loved reading your post. I felt like I was there- how awful! You’ll NEVER do it wrong again. Sometimes you just need a friendly face to help you out.

  6. So amazing to be on the other side, isn’t it? Dropping off and picking up makes me a bit more empathetic to our parents picking up and dropping off at school.

    The first time I dropped off I didn’t even know what time school started so we were 15 minutes late! I was so embarrassed that I had no idea what time school started for my own kids. So, of course, I started explaining that I am a teacher and I am at work by the time kids start school and my husband does drop off, and what time DOES school start? And what time is pick up? UGH! I hate changing the routine!

    Good luck for the rest of the week.

  7. Oh my, parent drop-off and pick-up can be so confusing! Every school has its own set of rules and procedures, and they’re not always obvious. You have my sympathy. 🙂 ~JudyK

  8. This gave me anxiety just reading it! It’s so funny how we are often on the other side of the table thinking in our heads, “Come on, how hard is it?”
    I could totally hear the tone of the custodian and him telling the kids to stay on the bus until this crazy lady was out of here – made me lol!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *