The quieter life

Growing up in the south suburbs of Chicago, and with the exception of college, living either in the city or suburbs you get used to the busyness of life.

The traffic, the people, the noise, etc

Yes the convenience of shopping and expressways and airports and just about anything you can think of is great and I don’t really think about the craziness that it all can be that often.  Until yesterday.

Yesterday I headed to OHare Airport on the busy expressway to catch my flight to Syracuse, NY.

I headed into the crowded airport and went through security with lots and lots of other people.

Made my way to my gate weaving around all the people and luckily found a seat-not at my gate, but one across the way-close as you usually get unless you’re real early.

I got onto my little American Eagle plane, which although was smaller and may freak people out,  I kind of found the smaller, less packed plane a lot nicer than the packed 727’s.

The flight was not full so it was quiet and relaxing.

I get off the plane in Syracuse welcomed by a quiet, peaceful airport- the opposite of OHare or Midway.

I easily walk to baggage claim where, as I am walking up the buzzer goes off and my luggage is already there.

I text my friend, to see where I should find her in the crazy pick up lane- not crazy at all-she’s the only car pulling up.

We make the hour drive to her house on an open 4 lane highway, very few cars, very few towns even  though it’s “rush hour”.  So peaceful, so nice. So unusual.

It’s funny how when you get used to something you just consider it normal.  And as much as I like the quieter/easier life here in upper New York I think I’m used to and like the craziness of the Chicago suburbs, at least for now.

 

 

3 thoughts on “The quieter life

  1. Our normal is becoming more and more annoying! I am glad you got some quiet in your life. Have fun on your trip!!

  2. I actually love the quieter pace and look forward to something more like you described. I hope you have a great time!

  3. Yes, sometimes we must travel and step back to gain perspective. I’m not hopping on an airplane, but I will travel 100 miles west in a few days and appreciate a little, quiet town with no stoplights. Enjoy your time in NY.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *