Memory lane

I grew up listening to music; my mom always had it playing.  In college, friends would stare at me in surprise when I could sing all the seventies and eighties songs at the bar on Time Warp Tuesdays or Bad Music Night on Thursdays.  That’s all I heard growing up..

I still like music a lot but never became a huge music fan.  I enjoy it most because of the memories it brings back..

I had an early appointment this morning so to wake me up and get my day started off right I decided to put my own huge playlist on in the car as I drove.  It has a variety of songs from a variety of genres.  I always just put it on shuffle.  Sometimes my thoughts are elsewhere so the music ends up being background noise but today I was really listening and therefore it put me right onto memory lane in the car..

Push It (Salt N Pepa)- middle school at the roller rink

18 and Life (Skid Row)- the first CD I owned

Alive (Pearl Jam)- high school- underage drinking with my group of friends

Tell Her About It (Billy Joel)- My mom cleaning and singing when I was younger

I began getting so interested in what surprise memory would come up I wouldn’t even finish the song before I would skip to the next.

Anything Alanis Morrisette- college

Tim McGraw A Place in the Sun CD- working at the bank

Drops of Jupiter (Train)- my best friend Shelley

I could have stayed in my car all day travelling down memory lane.  That’s the great thing about songs they come with memories..

 

One thought on “Memory lane

  1. Ohhh I can totally relate to this! Whenever I hear Billy Joel I think of every vacation car ride I ever took with my family as a kid. We would listen to him or the Jurassic Park soundtrack. It’s crazy how a song or a smell can bring you back to such a specific moment in time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *