What would a good mom do?

My daughter had school today as some other schools did to as the mandated break officially starts tomorrow.

I originally didn’t even realize that she even had school because we did not have school in my district but then my sister in law mentioned it as hers are in the same district.  So at first I was like “great, I’ll get a day to get accustomed to my new “teaching day” without having to get used to her new “learning day”.

Yesterday I went back to check my emails from her district and sure enough I missed it- or to be honest I really didn’t read it as I figured it was similar to the ones mine sent out and I could catch take a minute Sunday Night to read through them to figure her ELearning plan.

So I decided to read the whole thing.  And then I noticed a few times they kept mentioning “If you choose not to send your child to school” and “we understand that some of you will not choose to send your child to school”.

Well I never thought that I should keep her home.  Now I was thinking, “Well should I?” – What would a good mom do??  Lots of thoughts (or doubts) I hadn’t thought of popped into my head.

Her school was closed just as mine was, because it was mandated, not because there was a case found in school.

They were going to eat lunch in the classrooms with their teachers.

She is a healthy girl.

If they felt that it was unsafe they would just close school and not allow this day.

I texted my neighbor.  Nope she was not sending her kids to school.  Should I?

So I talked to Reese and told her that her school was open tomorrow.  At first she was confused that she had to go to school (because her mom didn’t read her emails and told her the wrong things) then we talked about how she was going to make her Leprechaun Trap, and how she wouldn’t see her teacher for a few weeks, or her friends. Also how she would have lunch with her teacher in the classroom.

She was excited to go so I decided that that was my decision too.

And although a part of me was nervous driving her to school that I was going to be the only car dropping a student off (the only bad mom sending her student to school)- I wasn’t.

She enjoyed her day- 14 kids were there in her class- usually there are 22 of them.  More than half still came.

Right or wrong- who knows.  Probably could argue both sides.

I decided I made the right choice for my girl. In my case it was what I thought a good mom would do.

 

 

4 thoughts on “What would a good mom do?

  1. I was left with same decision to make today, too. I ultimately sent my kiddos to school as well. Tomorrow we will bunker down!

  2. A good mom follows her gut instinct as well as her child’s gut instinct! You made a great choice and her excitement proved that!

    You are doing great!

  3. I was in the same boat! Pre-K/daycare hasn’t closed down, and I initially thought I’d get a great day of work and things checked off before having my kids home with me. And then I got a litany of new drop-off procedures. I explained them to my 4 year old, telling him I wouldn’t be able to go into the building like usual. That was enough to change his mind. So home we were today. This wiggle day has left a weird mark for sure!

  4. I sent mine to preschool even though many didn’t. Keeping the mom of the year trophy for at least one more day!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *