Back in my day….

Seeing the “home schooling adventure” in full swing and teachers using all of the technological tools they have to teach their students popped a memory into my head.  It was when I was a part of what I would have to call “old school” online teaching/learning.

It wasn’t actually online as at that time being online wasn’t a big thing at all so I’m not exactly sure what you’d call it.

When I was  in my undergrad studies I took some classes at a local small university. I think the class was a basic economics course or something. When I signed up there was a disclaimer that the class would be filmed and aired and I had to give consent.   Wasn’t sure what that was all about but I said sure and signed up.

So I head to class and it is in this larger classroom that has cameras and lighting and stuff; nothing fancy but like a make shift studio.

There were 3 tiers of tables for like 30 people and the teacher is on the stage in front.  It ended up that we did not have one teacher but many “guest speakers”.

The class was a morning one, so luckily since I was unsure what it was all about, I did shower and apply some make up and look halfway decent.  Which was a good thing.  Because at times the camera was on the class! You could see on the monitors!

I was not sure where or when this would be aired and who would see it, but I was for sure going to make sure I looked halfway decent.  I also figured out the spots that weren’t on camera or where you could just see the side or back of my head.  I had no desire to be on this “show”.

So apparently it was on a certain local channel that people were watching to take the class remotely or whatever.  The original “online/video” class.

The funny thing was that a friend that lived in our apartment building saw me on the tv one night on the random local cable channel for the college or whatever it was.

How funny how things have changed!

 

 

One thought on “Back in my day….

  1. I took a stab at videotaping my writing mini-lesson. So strange to watch myself. I have to get use to it …it is the new norm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *