Missing the laughs

Usually during the Slice of Life Challenge I find writing moments through my time at school with my kindergarteners.   Since I haven’t seen them lately to write about them I found myself thinking about some funny things they (well 2 of them) said this year- actually in the last month.

1. The other day during dismissal ( I walk my kids out everyday and stay until they are all picked up) I was,  as usual, checking in with a few of my kiddos that have different people pick them up throughout the week, regarding who’s picking them up today; “Who’s picking you up today Liam?  Papa or mom?” “Who’s picking you up today Easton? Grandma or Mr. Rocco?” Suddenly one of my other little boys looked at me and asked, “Who picks you up from school Mrs. Brunke?”  He was shocked when I told him I drive myself 🙂

2. Another boy in the other kindergarten class who I have for guided reading said the other 2 smile worthy memories. He has special needs and he struggles coming into small group sometime or doing what is asked. He gets loud and upset at these times.  This particular day he was doing fine but the rest of my guided reading class was extra chatty and repeatedly not following directions. I had had enough. So as they were supposed to be lining up to leave and we’re not cleaning up and lining up I finally had enough got upset and was using my “loud and disappointed” kindergarten teacher voice when all of a sudden this student looks at me and all calmly says “Mrs. Brunke you need to calm down.”  He spoke it so professionally- he definitely has heard that before 🙂.  I almost burst out laughing.  The two adults in my room turned their head so they couldn’t be seen laughing. I finally mustered out a “Mrs. Brunke will calm down when kids are following our Edgewood Guidelines”.
3. And just during the last day I had with the kiddos this same student who had a rough time coming into guided reading- yelling, arguing, crying (interrupting the class) finally got settled down and was working nicely with his IPad. He doesn’t wear headphones like the other kids do so he can hear my group.  Meanwhile my small group was playing a sight word game with me (Fun Friday in guided reading) and we were having fun and I was celebrating when they were getting the words we have been working on correctly. All of a sudden he looks up and says in a teacher voice “Mrs. Brunke can you please keep it down!  I’m trying to work and you are disturbing me!”  Once again I almost laughed.   Sure kiddo wouldn’t want to disturb you after you disturbed us for 10 minutes 😂.
I really miss the laughs I get from these kiddos who are not even trying to be funny.

One thought on “Missing the laughs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *