Different kind of Monday

A typical Monday during the school year..

It is usually remembered around lunchtime.  Myself or another staff member, although not wanting to hear a certain response, asks..

“Do we have a 3-4 meeting today?” (3-4 meetings are our twice a month but seems more like weekly staff meetings that happen on Mondays from 3 to 4, hence the name)

Couple of hopeful shrugs that maybe we don’t have one.  Couple hopeful guesses “Didn’t we just have one last week?  I’m thinking we don’t”.

But then someone checks the schedule and verifies..  “Yep, we have a 3-4 meeting today!”

Groans, sighs, mood change..

Usual responses/thoughts heard..

I was hoping to return some emails before I left.

I wanted to get those things copied for the week.

It’s Monday and I am exhausted, just want to go home.

It better not go past 4, I have got to leave right at 4!

I wanted to go to the store before I pick up the kids so I can go by myself.

We just had institute day what on earth else can we talk about already so soon?

We have report cards and conferences coming up- can’t we just have time to do those?

on and on..

Coronavirus Quarantine Monday during the school year

I remembered first thing in the morning- “We have a 3-4 meeting today on ZOOM!”

Didn’t need a reminder or to verify in my calendar.  I knew it was today!

I wasn’t dreading the hour long meeting.

Instead these thoughts were on my mind..

Good reason to shower and look presentable today (although I chose not to be on video during the call-no reason to scare anyone)

Whatever we are going to talk about sounds wonderful!

I get to see and communicate with other adults besides my husband and a grocery store worker!

I get to see my awesome co-workers and probably share a laugh!

Hands down the best 3-4 meeting ever!

Great to see you all my Edgewood friends!

4 thoughts on “Different kind of Monday

  1. I love that you still had a 3-4! What a great way to check in with everyone. I also thoroughly enjoyed your run-down of thoughts in both scenarios.

  2. I loved seeing everyone too (but I missed seeing your face). All the thoughts you shared are the exact thoughts that I have had and many times voiced! I can’t wait for our next 3-4 (how many more times do you think we would say that)!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *