I truly enjoyed them today!

Right now I have 2 kindergarten classes. Group A on Monday and Thursday and B on Tuesday and Friday.
I have 6 group A kiddos and they are a dream!!  Mondays are not as “Mondayish”.  They have all done “school” before. They are at a variety of levels but they all work hard. Every day with them is fabulous!

My B group had 7 kiddos and they are awesome kiddos but we struggle!  Following directions is difficult.  Getting them motivated is difficult. Listening is difficult. Basic school routines are difficult and keeping my patience has definitely been difficult.
Each Tuesday and Friday I start the day being positive and pep talking myself to be patient and try different approaches and tell my self not to compare  them to my other group. I have not had much luck until today.
Today, or rather last night, I decided I’m not doing enough. This is on me. I am the teacher and I set the tone and if my patience is gone and my frustration is apparent then what do I expect from them.   They need me to help get them where they need to be.
Today, Friday,  I started my day positive and full of patience and really a different attitude.  And it worked. My patience seemed bigger, my attitude was great, I TRULY ENJOYED these kiddos today. And I’m sure they really enjoyed their teacher today too.

Was it luck? Who knows?

Will Tuesday be great too?  Hopefully, but if not that’s ok we’ll get there..

Is it because it is Friday and I’m looking forward to the weekend? And maybe they are too? Maybe…

Most importantly though…

Am I going to bask and enjoy this “win”?..  absolutely!

Am I going to approach each Tuesday and Friday the same way? You betcha!

 

2 thoughts on “I truly enjoyed them today!

  1. So. Relatable.
    And I loved the honesty. Because, you know, in my head every time I have to email kids’ parents from my “B” group I have like yours (they’re 5th graders) and await the reply of either anger at me (unwarranted deflected guilt) or sadness at themselves for failing their children as at-home teachers while they work full time (obviously also unwarranted) I KNOW it’s my fault. I KNOW if I were better or more engaging or patient the result would be different. But you say that to most people and they tell you to take it easy on yourself and of course it’s not your fault. And I don’t know if “fault” is as precise a word needed for this, but it isn’t wrong. Sometimes we reach the edge of our ability, or of our effort-level, but we need to keep trying. Even during this time, especially during this time, it’s way too important. Thank you for your honesty – big fan of this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *