Free

March 25
Similar to the slice I wrote a couple weeks back about trying not to give out my email, I try not to sign up for many “Reward Programs” either.

If it is for a store I frequent and the rewards are easy to use- like I just put in my number and it keeps track of things and I don’t have to think about it- I’ll give it a try. Otherwise I’m not interested.  I can’t keep track of the punch cards they give me and I don’t want texts from using my phone number from a random place I go to once in awhile.

Recently I caved in at my local Speedway.  I have been going there for a fountain Diet Coke this past school year as it is closer to and more convenient then going to McDonalds because I don’t have to worry about drive thru lines. Now the Speedway Diet Coke is not as good as the McDonalds Diet Coke and is does cost 42 cents more but in the morning I’m looking for convenience 😊.

I started going once a week or so and they would ask if I had a card and I’d say no. Then my frequency grew and the lady began to recognize me and started to remind me that after so many drinks the next one is free. The computer keeps track of it; there is no punch card to keep track of.

Sounds good but no thanks, I’ll just lose the card and I don’t want it on my key chain.

You can register it with your phone number

No thanks-don’t want texts from Speedway

A few weeks back I must have been in a good mood or different mindset so when the lady asked me again if I had a card I said no but this time I’ll take one!  I put the card in my front purse pocket.

Surprisingly  I kept it in that pocket and remembered to use it.  Today I went in to get my Diet Coke and when she scanned my card it popped up…  free drink!

I put my $1.52 back in my purse and started my Thursday off on a pretty decent note.  I know it wasn’t a free car or even a free shirt but hey I’ll take it!

 

3 thoughts on “Free

  1. I am with you on so many levels -hate giving out my info, can never find the blasted card and I do love a good bargain. Happy day!

  2. I think this was a good deal you caved on!
    You know I love free stuff and I’m signed up for allllll the crap. I have major sign-up regret because I now get a text everyday saying there’s a $3,000 loan waiting for me! I can’t unsubscribe. I can’t escape. I block the number every day and they find me and send me a text the very next day.

  3. That is awesome! Free is good. I don’t care if it is $1.52 or $500.00, free feels good. I bet you really felt good about that free drink, like told everybody at work? LOL That is what I would have done!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *