It’s either 1 day or forever

Day 4

Today’s blog came to me at 2:25 this morning when I was letting my dog out.  I was standing in the half lit kitchen half asleep looking around when I noticed our goldfish swimming about wondering if we fed him/her/it or not?

Figuring a little more food wouldn’t hurt I put a tiny bit in and thought. wow we’ve had this thing forever.  It seems like forever.  Lots of our friends who aren’t over all the time see the fish and make the comment, “Wow that things still alive!”. So I started thinking about when we got it.  It was a BIG WIN at the DuPage County Fair and actually came with “2 siblings”.    The other 2 siblings died the first day (RIP Moonlight and Peanut) but Sunlight made it.  She is still swimming in the big glass pickle jar my aunt gave us after her county fair fish Bubbles finally died.

That made me think of Bubbles and how long she lived.  My aunt had her forever! And she won it at a carnival/county fair type place.

Then I started remembering how this was the second time our family was fortunate to be fish parents.  The last time my daughter had won 2 fish.  And lo and behold they both lasted quite a few years.

So my 2:25 am life’s conclusion is that if you win a fish at a county fair it will either live 1 day or forever!

4 thoughts on “It’s either 1 day or forever

  1. I’ve never had a goldfish live past the first bowl cleaning. I’m not a good fish parent. I love that Sunlight is in a pickle jar.

  2. Jax won “Goldie” the red beta fish at Family fun night when he was little. It lived longer than I expected too. I don’t miss cleaning the tank though!

  3. We have not had much luck with goldfish. I remember I had one as a kid named Snowball. I went on vacation and my best friend watched it. Unfortunately, Snowball’s bowl was overfilled and he slipped out and died. At least that is what my best friend said, lol.

  4. The last time we won beta fish at family fun night, I refused to get a second tank until they lived through a full week. I ended up having to get a second tank! LOL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *