A memory flash from the past

My daughter had a friend’s birthday party today.  She was with her dad so he dropped her off and I was to pick her up.   As I walked into the party, I was back!

I was back anytime from 1987-1989.

It was Saturday night

It was the Roller Rink!

This particular roller rink was not the exact one I used to frequent back in the day but let’s face it, they are all basically the same..

The big oval roller skating area. The cool lights.  The loud “skating” jams.  The wild, loud carpet.  The snack bar area.  The brown rental skates.  The lockers.  The arcade games.  The announcer with the cool voice, introducing the “special” skates.

I was back and the memories came flooding over me!  It was always a Saturday Night during the school year.

It was always with my friend Alison (as she was the roller rink rock star-that was her place!) and some other random friends.

I always wore my certain pair of jeans with a rotating cool t-shirt to go with.

My mom always gave me $5.00 for the night. $3.50 to get in and that left $1.50 for the snack bar OR arcade games.

I had my own white skates with the cool hot pink laces.

My dad always drove us there and Alison’s dad always picked us up at 10:30 in his cool white, black and grey van.

It was something that I haven’t thought about in so long, and it was a great walk down memory lane.  It made me think of this comedian, Bret Ernst who does a great bit on the roller rink that any one who ever went to the rink can definitely appreciate!  If you haven’t seen it and you were a roller rinker you have to check it out (FYI- there is swearing in it, in case that bothers anyone)

3 thoughts on “A memory flash from the past

  1. Oh, I am right back there with you (except maybe a few years earlier!). There was a whole world inside those rinks!

  2. I could absolutely visualize the roller rink we would hang out at. It had all the same things, but like you said, they were all the same. Maybe you need to bring back the tradition and start hanging out there every Saturday night! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *