Forced Motivation

I am DEFINITELY NOT a self motivated person.  I want to do so many things but a lot fall to the wayside because I’d rather do other less important, mostly more fun, things.  So if something does NOT need to get done it most likely won’t.  When I am “forced” to do it I am so happy when it is done, but not happy enough to be motivated to change my motivation..

For example- the guest bedroom/”I’m not sure what to do with this”/”I don’t want to deal with this right now” room.

We moved into our house 3 and a half years ago and I have gotten in there and straightened and went through some things, usually when we have a guest or when I am looking for something but have never done the BIG organization of it.  I push everything into the closet and close the doors.  I make nice neat piles of other things but never go through it.  It would be great to have this nice neat room. But never motivated to do so and it’s never been  something that HAD to be done.

Well now the situation has changed.  Next week my sister, brother-in-law and their twin daughters will be moving in with us as they wait to move into their new home about 3 months from now.  Now this once “everything room” will become the girls’ bedroom.  And even though my sister, who doesn’t want me to do anything extra for them because she doesn’t want to impose,  said to make just a little space for them, I am taking this opportunity to “force motivate” me to get it turned into the guest bedroom it is supposed to be.  As well as make my nieces comfortable in their temporary bedroom.

Fortunately, because we have no plans this weekend and the weather today is less than desirable to be outside, I am able to get started.   I already emptied out the closet and went through and made a HUGE donation pile of clothes that I have not worn for probably years.  I  also came across some  “that’s where they went” finds which was great.  Next up is paperwork and random school bags that I dropped in there at the beginning of a summer and never really dug back into since.  School papers from my daughter that I wanted to go through to see what I wanted to keep for her memory box.  Random gift bags and wrapping paper and all that good stuff I put away and shut the door and forgot about until I HAVE to deal with it.  Home decor that I never decided where to put but know I will put it up someday..  maybe.. Games and puzzles after puzzles after puzzles that I have done or have been given that I am going to box up and put into the basement..   Did I mention I have a huge unfinished basement that all this stuff that is messing up my guest room could go, even without me having to go through it..?? Again I was never “forced motivated” to do it, so spending time carrying things to the basement never happened.  But it will this weekend.

Although I wish I was a self motivator, I am glad for the “forced motivation” that helps me get things done.

3 thoughts on “Forced Motivation

  1. I totally get this! I work best under pressure, even though I wish I didn’t. I hope the living arrangement work out well. If nothing else, it helped you to get things done.

  2. Forced motivation is what allows for anything to get done in my house! Pete teases me that once a week he is going to call me and tell me “so and so” is coming over so I can clean the house! Otherwise I need to “deep clean” which takes too long and week after week most of it doesn’t get clean anyway. LOL Good job getting started!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *