Done with Them

This weekend my daughter came and told me that she was done with her American Girl Dolls and all their stuff.

I was not happy to hear this; although she was right.  In the last year she has gone from playing with them to just rearranging and setting up the “areas” differently. They are just taking up space in her toy room.

She will keep her original (real) doll that looked just like her and a favorite outfit or two but the rest will be packed up into bins.  She asked what I was going to do with them. I could sell the big stuff but I’m not really good at that or really know how to go about it but I’d rather donate it to a home with a bunch of kiddos that will enjoy them. Luckily I easily found a family with 4 little girls who will get years and years of fun with them.

I was not happy because these seem to be her final “big” toy collection that is heading into her childhood past.  They will join Little People and Princesses and Barbies and LOL’s to name a few..  My girl is growing up..  11 in 19 days!  Christmas and birthday presents have moved from the toy aisle to the electronics, clothes and sports aisle.  New great things are on their way and it is exciting but I’m not sure I am ready.  I knew it was going to happen just wasn’t quite ready for her to be done with them this weekend.

 

4 thoughts on “Done with Them

  1. Oh my, this is hard for a parent! I want to encourage you to set them aside, but I think your idea is much better – “I easily found a family with 4 little girls who will get years and years of fun with them.” Best of luck with your little one growing up!

  2. I loved donating my kids’ toys to new kids that would love them. Although I did save some special ones! I am definitely not ready for this new phase either. It goes by so fast.

  3. My house is no longer surrounded by “little kid” toys (except the basement) and although I love not having the clutter around, I do miss the actual playing they would do that didn’t rely on an electronic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *