Who is Rooster?

Today one of my students noticed the homemade bracelet that I wear and asked what it said on the letters.

Me: It says Rooster

Kiddo:  What?  Why does it say that?

Me: That’s my daughters name, well her nickname.  She made it for me so I wear it every day.

Kiddo: What’s a nickname?

So we had an impromptu chat about what a nickname is as some kiddos were not sure.  AS well as including that we only call people by nicknames that they  are okay with

BUT if you are in my family or a close friend oyou not only know what a nickname is you probably have one.  We are a nickname family and friend group for sure.  Most of the names have come from my older sister Lisa.  Some have a reason behind them and some are just cuz..

My daughter is Rooster thanks to her dad.  He would call her Reesie-Roo when she was just born.  Then it turned into The Roo-Ster (like you would say the Jake-ster or something) not realizing that it was an actual word.  So it stuck and Rooster was born and she likes it so that’s her nickname.

Lots of people I know call me Luu.  That is thanks to my friend Shelley.  She used to call me Lori-Luu and then just dropped the Lori part (now she thinks she is funny and calls me Luu-ser and that’s how I am listed in her phone contacts.  Most people outside of work call me Luu and for some people they didn’t realize for years that my name was Lori because that is how/what they knew me by.

We call Shelley’s husband Dig because his name is Doug..

My friend Robyn still calls me L-Bay (from when J-Lo started that trend) from back before I was ever married.  I call her Ro..

My brother in law is Brian but we call him Brain because his wife (my other sister) when she was younger always spelled Brian wrong and spelled it brain instead.

My other brother in law is Peter/Pete.  My sister calls him Pee-Wee or Petter.

My aunt is Mary but we call her Edna because she used to join our family vacations so we named her Edna affectionately after the character in National Lampoon’s Vacation.

My husband is John but my sister calls him Juan..  Sometimes Reese and I call him Jhon because Reese used to spell his name wrong when she was little

Our dad’s name is Gary.  My sister started calling him Gerald.  My grandma never liked that.  She said if she wanted to call him Gerald she would have named him Gerald.. 🙂

My best friend is Shelley.  My sister calls her smelly

Another close friend is Karen.  My sister and now most of us call her Claire (which used to be Clarence but I don’t remember why)

My niece is Mia but we call her Lolly.  My sister, her mom started to call her that becasue when she was little she would call her music lala’s..

Lolly still calls her sister Hissy still from back when she couldn’t say her S’s and say sissy.  They are 18 and 20 years old.

My twin nieces are Audrey and Zoey but we call them Audi and Zo-bo or just A and Z.

I call my sister Lisa- Liza..  just cuz

I could go on but you get it.. we do nicknames in my world..

So newcomers to my family and friends are usually confused of who we are talking about until they get the rundown of the names and if they are lucky and we like them, they will most likely eventually end up with a nickname too..

 

 

3 thoughts on “Who is Rooster?

  1. That is so interesting that you are such a nickname family/group of friends! My name is Toni and I always thought it was so weird because people thought it was a nickname. When I was little I never understood why people did not understand Toni was my full name. I was so defensive growing up about my name. Now, seeing it through my “adult” eyes, I understand!

  2. I love this! I think nicknames are almost a story of the time and place where someone enters your world! I like how you shared how the nicknames came to fruition too!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *