Day 29- The Evolution of the Birthday Dinner

After writing yesterday’s slice about my daughter picking the birthday dinner that we will be making at her family birthday party it made me think about her birthday dinner that we will take her out for, like we do every year.  And it made me think about how the birthday dinner place evolves as the kids grow up..

In my family it was always a tradition, as I am sure it is in most families that when it is your birthday we will go out for dinner and the birthday guy/gal gets to pick where we go.  We throw the invite out to the extended family (ours is small) and if anyone can make it they go with.  I always try to go to my nieces birthday meals if possible, as my sisters do the same for my daughter.

It started with my nieces.  Birthday dinners/lunches used to be McDonald’s, then as they got a bit older Red Robin.  Next was Texas Roadhouse and last year my teenage nieces picked The Lighthouse which is a pretty nice steak place near their house…

My daughter’s birthday dinner evolution is definitely happening now too.  Hers started at McDonald’s as well (typical for younger kiddos I am sure), then it was Chili’s and since last year she has moved up the birthday dinner stakes and her place of choice is now Hibachi.  We went last year and she ahs requested it next month for her 12th birthday.

Although it is not as cheap as McDonalds or Chili’s is, it is definitely tastier for sure.

I’m just curious when the next “evolution of  birthday dinners” happens where we will be headed next!!

One thought on “Day 29- The Evolution of the Birthday Dinner

  1. Happy Birthday to Reese! I am going to assume that the next evolution will take place when SHE starts paying for it! LOL

    My kids started with Chuck E. Cheese, then moved to Olive Garden, and now have been loyal to Wildfire for steaks, which I love so it’s a win for them and me!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *