Phone free

Today I forgot my phone at home.

I realized that I forgot it when I was at that point where I was still close enough to home to go back but far enough where it would add extra time to my commute.  I checked the clock and decided that I was already running a bit behind so I said forget it.

Although I made the right (or should I say responsible so I wouldn’t be late for work) choice I was still dreading my day without my phone.  It’s going to be a pain.  Even though I will have my laptop I will still need my phone.

As I drove to work I contemplated my first hurdle (which I was sure would be the first of many without my phone)- I need to be able to get in touch with my husband about after school pick up for my daughter.  What a day this is going to be.

However as I drove on I remembered that I could just have my close friend at work text my husband for me so he knows I don’t have my phone and I could use her phone or our school phone to call if I needed.  And I could always send an email.

First hurdle jumped but I am sure there would be more I needed my phone for

BUT nope there wasn’t..

True I “missed” it when I wanted to listen to my own music on the way to school.

I “missed” it when I was wondering if the gray skies I saw meant rain coming and I couldn’t easily check the weather.

I “missed” it when I couldn’t check my personal email at lunch to play Scrabble with my friend.

I “missed” it when I arrived 10 minutes early to pick up Reese at art class and didn’t have it to clean out email or flip through facebook.

But I never “needed” it.  I “missed” it but never needed it.  Day went on just fine.

My husband asked/joked that since I had such a fine day without my phone and didn’t “need it” if I was going to start leaving it at home..

My response?

Let’s not get crazy here!!

4 thoughts on “Phone free

  1. So true! Not the end of the world when I have forgotten it, but enough to feel weird without it . . . and that was when I had my flip phone! I am glad you survived!

  2. Haha I totally know what you mean about the initial panic of leaving your phone at home but realizing that maybe it helps us be a little more in the moment. Nicely done!

  3. I have forgotten my phone several times, but I wasn’t as responsible as you. I’ve had my husband drop it off on his way to work. Good thing his work is close to mine.

  4. On the days I have forgotten my phone I feel completely lost or anxious on what I am missing out on. Makes you realize how sadly dependendent we are on our cell phones, or should I say how much we WANT to stay connected to the outside world all day long. We don’t NEED to stay connected.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *