50 isn’t that much

In Kindergarten we do our calendar everyday.  We do the usual date stuff- month, day, year.  Add the piece to the big calendar; sing the songs.  We also count the days of school-our math portion of calendar- and we bundle the tens and then eventually the big one hundred bundle of ten tens.  Today we hit day 120, and I realized only 50 more days of school with the kids.

I thought-Wow!  That is not much at all!  We can do this!

I was happy to share that with my teaching partner today as we shared our daily stories of the craziness we both experienced in our classrooms.

It has definitely been a doozy of a year for both of us.  Our classes are maxed out.  We have a VERY needy bunch.  We also have quite a few “unique” kiddos this year.  Quite a few others identified with special needs.  A few other truly difficult students dealing with god knows what.  Not to mention our rooms were partially still under construction from the electrical and heating/cooling work from the summer until late Fall.  Lots of walk throughs and visitors disrupting the strong daily structure our kiddos really need this year.  It just feels like it has been NON-stop chaos- which honestly it really has been.

Don’t get me wrong we both LOVE our jobs and all the kiddos that come with it but some years are tougher than others.  This is one of them.  So when I realized how far along we have come and how far along the kids have come as well, I saw the glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel showing me how far I’ve come and how close I am to sending them off to first grade..

BUT then I thought WAIT! 50 isn’t that much at all!  I have so much more I want to get to with them.  So much more I want to teach.  So many connections I want to deepen.  So many puzzling kiddos I still want to figure out and help.  So many hugs, smiles, laughs and never ending stories I still need/want from this wonderfully difficult class which I truly love dearly..

Will 50 be long enough?  Guess it’s going to have to be.

4 thoughts on “50 isn’t that much

  1. Only 50 more days….oh my that does not seem like a long time at all. We’ve all made it through pretty well so far:)

  2. Oh, I thought this post was going to be about how old your teaching partner was!! 50 days, we got this!

  3. I just had a very similar conversation with my teaching partner today. We have 59 days that seem soooooooo long and sooooooo NOT ENOUGH at the same time.
    Construction must have been difficult.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *