Trifecta

Everyone in the education world (and I’m sure those in the medical and law enforcement fields have to) has heard and seen it everywhere on social media..

This week has the trifecta- DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME CHANGE, A FULL MOON & FRIDAY THE 13TH!!

Watch out!!  The kids will surely show/feel the effects of this!!

I swear it’s true.  Things do get a little cuckoo when you throw some of these things into our school week.  Sometimes there are some weird, funny happenings but usually the “craziness” comes out.

And not the fun crazy;  the exhausting, defeated, “am I really making a difference?”, “ can I make it another day”, heartbreaking crazy..

BUT the one thing that gets me- and I’m sure many of my coworkers would agree- through these weeks are the people I work with!

Yes they are kind and fun BUT it’s more.  This amazing group I get to work with take care of each other..

Had a bad day?-come in and vent

Need to cry?- here’s a tissue

Need a break from a difficult kiddo?- Send them their way

Need a happy hour partner?- name the time and place

Feel defeated?- let them tell you 20 ways you made a difference today

Need to celebrate a “win”?- They’ll cheer louder than you

Need to laugh? – just come to lunch

And this is all without being said or asked.  No judgement, nothing held against you. And what is do amazing is that this is not just a small group of people who support each other,  it’s literally the whole staff.

We have many tough, great kiddos who truly need (and get) a village- or in our case a school- of people who love and work their butts off daily for kids they have known for years, have maybe never taught or have literally just met in a difficult spot that day.

They just do it, we just do it. And I truly feel lucky to get to be a part of an amazing team who make me know that I can make it through these Trifecta weeks (or sometimes what seems to be a trifecta year!)

So bring on the Trifecta this week- I’ll probably need  a long nap and some adult beverages this weekend but I’ll survive- always do.

 

4 thoughts on “Trifecta

  1. Thanks for the positive vibes here. March is a month that we need it. Support from colleagues goes such a long way. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Love it and totally agree. Our school may not be perfect, but we have one hell of a staff! Speaking of that poetry thing, probably time to get on that!

  3. We really do have a wonderful staff, and that includes you! I will make it down to lunch soon . . . just waiting for this cough to subside!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *